A Father’s Day Lesson

Tim Shriver on the Special Olympics site wrote about fathers day today: “But there’s something about Father’s day that has always bothered me: it’s the idea that Dad’s are all about the outdoors and sports and being tough but not about relationships and tenderness and love.” Show the love today and everyday Dads, your kids need it.

The World of Special Olympics

On this father’s day, I’m going to take my lesson on being a Dad from a mom.

I never could’ve imagined what one Mom, Lauren Warner, learned from sipping lemonade.  It’s the big lesson; the biggest.  And not surprisingly, it came from the littlest of teachers.  Take a look.

There’s a tendency to think that Father’s Day should be about ties and after-shave and lawn mowers.  And why not?  I have no problem with any of these gifts and men do need them—well, maybe not everyone needs a lawn mower.  But I love the idea of celebrating Dads and Moms.  I’ll miss my Dad on Father’s Day this year and for as long as I live.  I loved celebrating him when he was alive.

But there’s something about Father’s day that has always bothered me:  it’s the idea that Dad’s are all about the outdoors and sports and being…

View original post 382 more words

About Sandra F

Sandra F balances her life as a management consultant, speaker and coach with her other roles as a mother to 3 amazing and extraordinary children.
This entry was posted in Children, Disability, Family, Parents and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

