Monday’s suck. Monday’s suck like “I broke my leg skiing sucks”.

by Chelsea Fairclough – just an ordinary freshman in High School but with the added burden of a fancy wheelchair  

Monday’s suck. Monday’s suck like “I broke my leg skiing sucks”.

After a glorious or horrid week you have to the temptation of a two-day break or the weekend.  I would keep going on with the week but thats just me.  From lying in on Saturday morning to staying up late Saturday night to the scary realization that tomorrow is school on Sunday.  Monday’s really suck. 

Me Hating Mondays

My weekend went something like this: (Although I don’t know if this is accurate because I was half asleep the entire weekend yeah!)


Friday I only spent half of the day at school
because I had a doctor’s appointment, which would be fine except for the fact that my mom picked me up so not fun.  I got good news, bad news and ice cream.  Which is how I got pretty happy on Friday.  I saw some old friends in the PICU at NUH giving them an Amazin  painting with  gratitude for all that they have done for me.

“Amazin” PICU at NUH where I have spent hundreds of days

Then Saturday hit.  You get that feeling that it was a dream until you wake up and realize that you don’t have to wake up.  You could sleep in,  you could watch TV, you could be a bat and sleep during the day and wake up at night.  I woke up.  Sleeping in sounded boring, watching TV sounded intriguing and being a bat sounded exhausting.  So I watched TV, I did my homework, I ate ridiculously bad junk food.  I was awesome.  My sister was out all day, my brother was half a mystery, my dad was working and I had my mom all to myself.  We had some awesome fun.  I caught up on all the things that I have missed while being a busy person during the week.  I was free, until my sister came home.  Then she put a spell on my good mood and turned it into wicked anger.

Sunday came and went as quickly as a pop tart takes to eat.  I got a visit from a friend, a neighbor and she introduced me to a new TV series called “Awkward”.  I highly recommend it.  It is something out of my comfort zone that I seem to really enjoy.  The bad thing about that is my sister likes it.  Whenever me and my sister like something it means war.  It always turns into a competition, who can watch it the fastest?  Luckily she forgot where I hid it.  Sorry Fran,  you are just going to have to wait till we can watch it together.  But last night was a very bad sleep because my sister found my families curse.  We are cursed to go to bed early.  I have been where she is asking the questions why?  But surprisingly I don’t mind going to bed early anymore.  I just really hope my sister can see that, it’s a good thing, not a bad thing.

Today was a bad day it is Monday after all.  And I don’t care what anybody says, no one likes Monday’s.  They are a curse and mine sucks.  Hopefully this week gets better after all I am so looking forward to Thursday because I get to annoy the hell of Pat seeing as its her birthday and all.  Which means lots of giggles and cake.  It’s always a special day.  Last year I made it a memorable one hopefully I can top it.

Until next time, ta ta.

The words are all by Chelsea who dictates her thoughts to her helper or teachers at school.

About Sandra F

Sandra Fairclough has more than 20 years international experience as a senior executive & vice president of a major Fortune 100 media company. She is a working mother who balances her life as a management consultant, speaker and coach with her other roles as a wife and mother to 3 amazing and extraordinary children, one of whom Chelsea is a C1/C2 tracheostomy ventilated quadriplegic.
This entry was posted in Children, Disability, School and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

