Painting makes me feel whole again

Why I Paint

by Chelsea – reprinted from her blog (here)

Painting is helping me express myself through colors.  I paint every Wednesday with Ms. McFadzen in her classroom.  We put tape underneath my wheelchair foot plate so that I have three wide brushes, as well as my wheels, to glide through paint that is on the canvas taped to the floor. Then, I glide through the paint and ask Ms. Mac to change the colors when I see that the canvas whispers a different color.  Painting makes me feel whole again even though I am painting with a chair.

I used to dance whenever I heard an awesome song, anywhere. I still dance. I dance in the car, in the mall, in my bedroom. When I paint, I let loose and let the music take over. When I paint, I get to be a dancer again and show movement and feelings through my colors and patterns.

I’ve never been to middle school art class. While other kids take art, I’ve always taken languages. I’ve always secretly wanted to do art to make a big mess. This is what I do now. I make a huge, gigantic masterpiece mess on the floor.

Art is so fun and easy. I love I can’t make a mistake. There are no wrong movements or rules. It’s just me, Ms. Mac, the music, and a blank sheet of canvas. It is like the art room is a pure space. If I’m having a bad day, or week, I can go and paint and I feel happy. I leave the art room more awesome than I came in it.

I’ve always liked being in the spotlight. Whether it is singing or dancing, or even making a big fool out of myself, the feeling of being on the stage stays the same. For now, the art room is my stage and painting is how I perform. Performing give me adrenaline and excitement.  It makes me smile because I know that I am going to paint a beautiful masterpiece of my own creation.

The County Fair is coming up and I am very excited because I donated one of my pieces to the PTA. I encourage you to bid on my painting so that I know that I am going in the right direction with my art work.

Chelsea, aged 13

About Sandra F

Sandra Fairclough has more than 20 years international experience as a senior executive & vice president of a major Fortune 100 media company. She is a working mother who balances her life as a management consultant, speaker and coach with her other roles as a wife and mother to 3 amazing and extraordinary children, one of whom Chelsea is a C1/C2 tracheostomy ventilated quadriplegic.
This entry was posted in Art, Disability, Family, School and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Painting makes me feel whole again

  1. Sandra F says:

    Ms Mac empowered Chelsea to paint and her RLA teacher Crystal Vaught has encouraged her to write blog pieces like the one above and sits and types her words into the computer for her. We are truly blessed by their talent, commitment and creativity as educators and can’t thank them enough for making Chelsea feel whole again. Great teachers transform lives.

  2. Pingback: Paintability | Mom on the Side

Leave a Reply

